~✌️~

Zefir Design School

A B O U T
Zefir Design School—is an offline in Minsk and online design school in two directions: Graphic and UI & UX design.
4+
YEARS WORKING ON THE PROJECT
The first lecture on typography was created in the distant summer of 2017
400+
SCHOOL GRADUATES
Over the years, it has been released from various offline and online courses, marathons
10
DIFFERENT COURSES
Typography, composition, color science, UI & UX, graphic design and many more
The history of the school
In the words of a dreamer Apollinaria Manko
I never imagined that I would enjoy teaching so much! Moreover, I didn’t know how much the process of preparing teaching materials for students would drag me out. You kill several "birds with one stone" at the same time: you pump incredibly well yourself and go deeper into the topic; you learn to present information in the most interesting and memorable way; you help people find themselves and open the world of design to them.

It all started in 2017 with the first lectures on typography for my colleagues. Honestly, I don’t even know what I liked more: the process of preparing lectures or their presentation. At that time, I was very downtrodden and shy. I was even afraid to ask passers-by "what time is it"! So, one of the tasks that I set myself was to overcome the fear of the "stage", to become an emotional and interesting storyteller. For a designer needs to be great at communicating with people. I think I did it :)

After several such lectures, I was drawn into it. I liked the energy of the audience, to build a connection with them. In parallel, while working as an experience designer at EPAM, I mentored the guys, helping them move to the design department. It is an incredible feeling when you see how your student grows and improves! The success of several students inspired me so much that I immediately got the idea to create my own school, to inspire and help people find themselves in a new area for them—design.

After 1.5 years of preparing all the materials, Zefir Design School was created and the first group was launched in Minsk. Now we are slowly growing and developing, but at the same time we remain the same cozy and lamp-based project that works not for the number of students, but for the quality of education and an individual approach to everyone.
School development stages
01 STEP
01 STEP
2017
Development of programs and materials
○ Development of three programs: intensive; ui & ux; graph. design
○ Create over 200 presentations
○ Layout of printed books in 8 subjects
○ Development of related materials for interactive webinars
02 STEP
02 STEP
2018
Launch of an offline school in Minsk
○ Development and launch of a school website
○ Launch of the first intensive group lasting 4 months
○ Program revision and launch of three groups: intensive; ui & ux; graph. design
○ Refinement and improvement of materials, programs, notes
03 STEP
03 STEP
2020
Attraction of a partner, going online
○ Rebranding the logo, developing illustrations and a full-fledged brand of the school
○ Website redesign, as well as development of a student’s personal account
○ Recording and editing of video lectures on all topics for all courses
○ Attracting a partner for the development of the school and access to the CIS
○ Team gathering: teachers, smm, social designer networks, etc.
○ Development of instagram, telegram and an author’s language for communication with target audience
○ First launch of online groups
04 STEP
04 STEP
2021
Development of different course formats and social networks
○ Launch of two group formats: offline and online
○ Developing a blended Learning program
○ Development and implementation of free online marathons for ui & ux and graph. design
○ Creation and promotion of an information Telegram channel
○ Launch of a Telegram bot with a funnel of sales of "myself" packages for self-study
○ Start promoting YouTube channel
○ Search for teaching partners to create courses in related areas
What has been done over the years
Training presentations
More than 200 educational presentations have been developed for 8+ subjects in the same style
The corporate identity of the school has been developed
The logo, branding of the school was created and the stylistics of digital illustrations were developed
Printed textbooks
Printed educational interactive books were developed for each subject
Website with a student’s personal account
For learning in the online format, a student’s personal account was developed and filled with content.
More than 200 video lectures filmed and edited
Each topic created for offline learning has been translated online through recorded videos
Development of methodological materials for teachers
To simplify the transfer of material to new teachers, the course program was described in detail with the accompaniment of audio recording.
The process of developing lectures and presentations
01 STEP
Collect materials from various sources: books, articles and videos
02 STEP
Writing a draft lecture script in Word
03 STEP
Development of clean presentations with examples in KeyNote
04 STEP
Layout of printed textbooks, creation of interactive templates
An example of a part of a presentation created in KeyNote for the subject "Typography"
To date, more than 200 presentations in various subjects have been created for the school. Everything is designed in one style: from visual templates to animated transitions between slides. After the stylistics of various slide variations in Sketch were developed, the entire template was transferred to KeyNote and subsequently, this program was used to create all the remaining presentations.

Textbooks

8 full-fledged printed books have been created on each subject studied within the course. They contain: written notes of each lecture; templates for individual interactive work or group work; work examples; practical exercises.
Video review of printed textbooks

The logo and its symbolism

It was decided to make the logo literal, that is, to use only the name of the school without a symbol. It contained two important symbolisms. The first is the path, the road. Our school is fundamentally changing the lives of students and helps in setting them up on a new path. The second symbolism is a ligature, which is formed by merging the letters F + i and graphically resembles the letter A. The names of the founders of the school begin with this letter (Apollinaria and Artuom), as well as the personal logo of Apollinaria is made in the form of the same letter with an elephant inscribed in it.

Video intro screen for lectures and videos on Youtube channel

The task was to make an animated screensaver in the style of a school for all video lessons. The main idea was to animate the logo: its gradual appearance with an emphasis on symbolic meanings: "F + i" ligature and "path". First, a storyboard was developed, including 21 compositional scenes. Then, an animation intro was made in After Effects (I hired a motion designer to create the animation).

Color palette

Initially, when choosing a color palette, the task was to have at least 4 accent colors, since in subsequent plans the goal was to develop the style of illustrations for the website redesign. The palette uses bright, but at the same time slightly muted colors, as if "dusty", which adds nobility to the selected palette and does not look childish. The palette conveys rigor, seriousness and openness to its target audience at the same time.
The Basic Principles of Illustration Style
The presence of lines
Illustrations should contain thin lines that are not too bold, but also not too nuanced; they should also convey understatement, lightness and dynamism.
New classic
Style "new" classic re-read with a modern look. The task is to convey a combination of new and old, which has been used in design for more than one century.
Color palette
Do not use bright, open colors, add a little complex tone, however, to make it look fresh and stylish.
Availability of textures
The use of large graphic textures on backgrounds, in parts of the illustration. The cage is like a reference to school.

Designing the style of illustrations

The illustrations were necessary for the school's website, as well as, in the future, for their use in social networks and advertising campaigns. The task was to simultaneously follow fashion trends, but not abuse them, so that the school could use them for many years and remain relevant. More than 25 illustrations were created.

The full process of creating illustrations can be found by clicking on the button :)
View case with illustrations
GRAPHIC DESIGN

VECTOR, POSTER, GOLDEN SECTION, COMPUTER, BRUSH, BEZIER PEN, CREATING AND DRAWING

Development of a school website and student’s personal account in an online format

When developing the Zefir Design School website, the following work was done:

1
Conducted a qualitative competitive analysis of the local and foreign markets;
2
Information architecture development phase;
3
Development of prototypes;
4
Creation of a clean visual design;
5
Разработка и создание стиля иллюстраций.

Information architecture design and development phase

Visual design of the main page of the site and the student’s personal account

School page visual design

Visual design of a page describing one of the courses

An example of a page design with a lesson

Video with a visual prototype of the site

Creation and development of interactive templates for: group workshop and theory practice in other disciplines

There was a separate task: to develop interesting interactive templates for consolidating and practicing the theory passed through the course. Most of the materials have been embedded in printed notes, but some are handed out separately by the teacher. Interacting with templates means filling, cutting and pasting, and so on.

A separate artifact is a book on the "Project" subject. This is a well-thought-out sequence of tasks for group work in order to generate a joint business idea and then "revive" it. As part of this activity, the team works out a variety of creative thinking methodologies: associative maps, brainstorming, quick interviews, morphological matrix, and much more.

Keeping an Instagram account and developing a recognizable style

A separate task was to develop stylistics for instagram: design of the feed and the creation of information stories. For this activity, a graphic designer from an SMM agency was involved and, under strict guidance and supervision, the style of the first posts and stories was set. A separate graphic designer is currently working on the design of the social network.

Development of methodological materials for teachers

With the involvement of other teachers, training programs were prepared in all courses and areas. A kind of "instruction" has been created with all the necessary materials for conducting classes. Each lesson is scheduled by the minute; all related materials are attached (from presentations to additional links and materials); templates for messages with homework were written for further sending to Google Classroom and Telegram channel; for each lecture, an audio instruction was created on the intricacies and nuances of the lesson.

Online library

Библиотека—this is a free online collection of useful articles, tools, videos on various topics related to both graphic and UI & UX design. Everything is categorized and subcategorized for ease of use. The purpose of the library: to help novice designers in self-study in the chosen direction; to pump knowledge to a new level for already working designers. In one of the main categories "Zefir Publications", useful articles from the school are periodically added.

See the coursework and student portfolios

What responsibilities did I perform
For the first two years of the school’s existence, I was a jack of all trades and, in fact, was involved in everything: from developing programs, launching an advertising campaign to gathering groups and concluding contracts. And of course teaching the guys :)
Creation of the program and all related teaching materials
School brand and website development
Legal part: development of contracts for offline and online courses
Searching for a lease, concluding a contract, purchasing the necessary materials for conducting offline classes, printing summaries
Launch of advertising campaigns: creation of design layouts; setting up and launching advertising on Instagram through the Facebook advertising account; advertising in Google search engine; tracking statistics via Yandex metrika and Google analytics
Gathering groups: processing applications; acceptance of payments; conclusion of contracts
Teaching groups and organizing graduations with invitation commissions
Tools
Sketch, Figma, Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, Notion, After Effects, iMovie, Asana, Procreate, KeyNote, Tilda, Google Classroom.
Thanks for watching!
Well, actually, this is how 4 years of work look like ... :)

~✌️~

Zefir Design School

П О Д Р О Б Н Е Е
Zefir Design School — это очная в Минске и онлайн школа дизайна по двум направлениям: Графический и UI & UX дизайн.
4+
ЛЕТ РАБОТЫ НАД ПРОЕКТОМ
Первая лекция по типографике была создана далеким летом 2017 года
400+
ВЫПУСКНИКОВ ШКОЛЫ
За все эти годы было выпущено с разных оффлайн и онлайн курсов, марафонов
10
РАЗНЫХ КУРСОВ
Типографика, композиция, цветоведение, UI & UX, графический дизайн и многие другие
История создания школы
Словами мечтателя Аполлинарии Манько
Я и подумать не могла, что мне настолько понравится обучать! И тем более не знала, насколько сильно меня затянет процесс подготовки обучающих материалов для студентов. Ты убиваешь несколько "зайцев" одновременно: невероятно здорово сам прокачиваешься и углубляешься в тему; учишься максимально интересно и запоминающе преподносить информацию; помогаешь людям найти себя и открываешь им мир дизайна.

Все начиналось в 2017 году с первых лекций по типографике для моих коллег. Честно, даже не знаю что мне нравилось больше: процесс подготовки лекций или их презентация. На тот момент я была сильно забитая и стеснительная. Я даже боялась спросить у прохожих "который час"! Так вот, одна из задач которую я себе поставила — это преодолеть боязнь "сцены", стать эмоциональным и интересным рассказчиком. Ибо дизайнеру надо здорово уметь общаться с людьми. Мне кажется, у меня получилось :)

Спустя несколько таких лекций меня затянуло. Мне нравилась энергия публики, выстраивать с ними связь. Параллельно работая в компании EPAM experience дизайнером я занималась менторством ребят, помогая им перейти в отдел дизайна. Это невероятное ощущение, когда ты видишь, как растет и совершенствуется твой ученик! Успех нескольких учащихся настолько меня вдохновил, что незамедлительно появилась идея создать свою школу, вдохновлять и помогать людям искать себя в новой для них сфере — дизайн.

После 1,5 лет подготовки всех материалов была создана Zefir Design School и запущена первая группа в Минске. Сейчас мы потихоньку растем и развиваемся, но при этом остаемся все таким же уютным и ламповым проектом, который работает не на количество учеников, а на качество обучения и индивидуальный подход к каждому.
Этапы развития школы
01 ЭТАП
01 ЭТАП
2017
Разработка программ и материалов
○ Разработка трех программ: интенсив; ui & ux; граф. дизайн
○ Создание более 200 презентаций
○ Верстка печатных конспектов-книг по 8 предметам
○ Разработка сопутствующих материалов для интерактивных вебинаров
02 ЭТАП
02 ЭТАП
2018
Запуск offline школы в Минске
○ Разработка и запуск сайта школы
○ Запуск первой группы по интенсиву продолжительностью 4 месяца
○ Переработка программы и запуск трех групп: интенсив; ui & ux; граф. дизайн
○ Доработка и улучшение материалов, программы, конспектов
03 ЭТАП
03 ЭТАП
2020
Привлечение партнера, выход в online
○ Ребрендинг логотипа, разработка иллюстраций и полноценного бренда школы
○ Редизайн сайта, а также разработка личного кабинета учащегося
○ Запись и монтаж видео лекций всех тем по всем курсам
○ Привлечение партнера для развития школы и выхода на СНГ
○ Сбор команды: преподаватели, smm, дизайнер соц. сетей и т.д.
○ Развитие instagram, telegram и разработка авторского языка для общения с ЦА
○ Первый запуск online групп
04 ЭТАП
04 ЭТАП
2021
Развитие разных форматов курсов и соц. сетей
○ Запуск двух форматов групп: offline и online
○ Разработка программы blended Learning
○ Разработка и проведение бесплатных online марафонов по ui & ux и граф. дизайну
○ Создание и продвижение информационного Telegram канала
○ Запуск Telegram-бота с воронкой продаж пакетов "я сам" для самостоятельного изучения
○ Старт продвижения YouTube канала
○ Поиск партнеров-преподавателей по созданию курсов смежных направлений
Что было сделано за эти годы
Учебные презентации
Было разработано более 200 учебных презентаций для 8+ предметов в одном стиле
Разработан фирменный стиль школы
Был создан логотип, брендинг школы и разработана стилистика цифровых иллюстраций
Печатные конспекты
Для каждого предмета были разработаны печатные учебные интерактивные конспекты
Сайт с личным кабинетом учащегося
Для обучения в формате online был разработан и наполнен контентом личный кабинет учащегося
Снято и смонтировано более 200 видео лекций
Каждая тема, созданная для offline обучения, была переведена в online по средством отдельно записанных видео
Разработка методических материалов для педагогов
Для упрощения передачи материала новым педагогам была подробно описана программа курсов с сопровождением аудиозаписи
Процесс разработки лекций и презентаций
01 ЭТАП
Сбор материалов с различных источников: книги, статьи и видео
02 ЭТАП
Написание сценария черновых лекции в Word
03 ЭТАП
Разработка чистовых презентаций с примерами в KeyNote
04 ЭТАП
Верстка печатных конспектов, создание интерактивных шаблонов
Пример части презентации, созданной в KeyNote для предмета "Типографика"
Для школы на сегодняшний день создано более 200 презентаций по разным предметам. Все выдержано в одной стилистике: начиная от визуальных шаблонов и заканчивая анимационными переходами между слайдами. После того, как была выработана стилистика различных вариаций слайдов в Sketch, весь шаблон был перенесен в KeyNote и в последующем, данная программа использовалась для создания всех оставшихся презентаций.

Конспекты

Создано 8 полноценных печатных книг-конспектов по каждому изучаемому предмету в рамках курсов. В них представлены: расписанные конспекты каждой лекции; шаблоны для индивидуальной интерактивной работы или работы в группе; примеры работ; практические упражнения.
Видео обзор печатных конспектов

Логотип и его символизм

Логотип было решено сделать буквенным, то есть использовать только название школы без символа. В него было заложено два важных символизма. Первый — это путь, дорога. Наша школа кардинально меняет жизнь учащихся и помогает в становлении их на новый путь. Второй символизм — лигатура, которая образуется при сливании букв F + i и графически напоминающая букву A. Имена основателей школы начинаются на эту букву (Аполлинария и Артем), а также личный логотип Аполлинарии выполнен в форме этой же буквы с вписанным в нее слоном.

Видео заставка — intro screen для лекций и видео на Youtube-канал

Стояла задача: сделать анимационную заставку в стилистике школы для всех видео уроков. Главная идея заключалась в анимации логотипа: его постепенное появление с акцентом на символических значениях: лигатура "F + i" и "путь". Сперва была разработана раскадровка, включающая 21 композиционную сцену. Затем, сделана анимационная заставка в After Effects (для создания анимации нанимала motion designer).

Цветовая палитра

Изначально, при подборе цветовой палитры, стояла задача в наличии не менее 4 акцентных цветов, так как в последующих планах была цель разработать стилистику иллюстраций для редизайна сайта. В палитре используются яркие, но при этом немного приглушенные цвета, как бы "припыленные", что добавляет благородства выбранной палитре и не выглядит по-детски. Палитра передает одновременно строгость, серьезность и открытость к своей целевой аудитории.
Основа стиля Zefir Design School
Присутствие линий
Иллюстрации должны содержать не слишком жирные, но и не слишком нюансные тонкие линии, также они должны передавать недосказанность, легкость и динамичность.
Новая классика
Стиль "новая" классика прочтенная заново современным взглядом. Задача передать сочетание нового и старого, что в дизайне используется уже не одно столетие.
Цветовая палитра
Не использовать яркие открытые цвета, добавить немного сложного тона, однако чтобы он смотрелся свежо и стильно.
Наличие фактур
Использование крупных графических фактур на фонах, в частях иллюстрации. Клетка — как отсылка к школе.

Разработка стиля иллюстраций

Иллюстрации были необходимы для сайта школы, а также, в дальнейшем для применения их в социальных сетях и рекламных компаниях. Задача была одновременно следовать модным тенденциям, однако не злоупотреблять ими, чтобы школа могла их использовать многие годы и оставаться актуальной. Было создано более 25 иллюстраций.

С полным процессом создания иллюстраций можно ознакомиться нажав на кнопку :)
СМОТРЕТЬ КЕЙС С ИЛЛЮСТРАЦИЯМИ
ГРАФИЧЕСКИЙ ДИЗАЙН

Вектор, постер, золотое сечение, компьютер, кисточка, перо безье, создание и рисование


Разработка сайта школы и личного кабинета учащихся с online формата

При разработке сайта Zefir Design School была проделана следующая работа:

1
Проведен качественный конкурентный анализ местного рынка и зарубежного;
2
Фаза разработки информационной архитектуры;
3
Разработка прототипов;
4
Создание чистового визуального дизайна;
5
Разработка и создание стиля иллюстраций.

Фаза проектирования и разработка информационной архитектуры

Визуальный дизайн главной страницы сайта и кабинета учащегося

Визуальный дизайн страницы о школе

Визуальный дизайн страницы с описанием одного из курсов

Пример дизайна страницы с уроком

Видео с визуальным прототипом сайта

Создание и разработка интерактивных шаблонов для: группового воркшопа и отработки теории на практике по иным дисциплинам

Стояла отдельная задача: разработать интересные интерактивные шаблоны для закрепления и отработки пройденной теории в рамках курса. Большая часть материалов была встроена в печатные конспекты, однако часть раздается отдельно преподавателем. Взаимодействие с шаблонами подразумевает что-то заполнить, что-то вырезать и вклеить и т.д.

Отдельный артефакт — это конспект по предмету "Проект". Это четко продуманная последовательность задач для групповой работы с целью сгенерировать совместную бизнес идею и дальше ее "оживить". В рамках этой активности команда отрабатывает множество методологий креативного мышления: ассоциативные карты, мозговой штурм, быстрое интервью, морфологическую матрицу и многое другое.

Ведение инстаграм аккаунта и выработка узнаваемой стилистики

Отдельная задача стояла по разработке стилистики для инстаграма: оформление ленты и создание информационных сторей. Для данной активности был привлечен графический дизайнер из SMM агенства и, под четким руководством и надзором, была задана стилистика первых постов и сторей. На текущий момент над дизайном социальной сети трудится отдельный графический дизайнер.

Разработка методических материалов для педагогов

При привлечении других педагогов была проведена подготовка учебных программ по всем курсам и направлениям. Создана своего рода "инструкция" со всеми необходимыми материалами для проведения занятий. Каждое занятие расписано поминутно; прикреплены все сопутствующие материалы (от презентаций, до дополнительных ссылок и материалов); написаны шаблоны сообщений с домашними заданиями для дальнейшей отправки в Google Classroom и Telegram канал; для каждой лекции создана аудио инструкция о тонкостях и нюансах занятия.

Онлайн библиотека

Библиотека — это бесплатная онлайн подборка полезных статей, инструментов, видео на различные темы связанные как с графическим, так и с UI & UX дизайном. Все разбито на категории и подкатегории для удобства использования. Цель библиотеки: помочь начинающим дизайнерам в самообучении по выбранному направлению; прокачать знания на новый уровень для уже работающих дизайнеров. В одной из главных категорий "Публикации Zefir" периодически добавляются полезные статьи от школы.

Смотреть выполненные в рамках курса учебные работы и портфолио студентов

Какие обязанности я выполняла
Первые два года существования школы я была "мастером" на все руки и по сути занималась всем: от разработки программ, запуска рекламной компании до сбора групп и заключения договоров. Ну и конечно обучения ребят :)
Создание программы и всех сопутствующих методических материалов
Разработка бренда и сайта школы
Юридическая часть: разработка договоров для offline и online курсов
Поиск аренды, заключение договора, закупка необходимых материалов для проведения offline занятий, печать конспектов
Запуск рекламных компаний: создание дизайна макетов; настройка и запуск рекламы в инстаграм через рекламный кабинет Facebook; реклама в Google поисковике; отслеживание статистики через Yandex metrika и Google analytics
Сбор групп: обработка заявок; прием оплат; заключение договоров
Обучение групп и организация выпускных с приглашением комиссий
Tools
Sketch, Figma, Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, Notion, After Effects, iMovie, Asana, Procreate, KeyNote, Tilda, Google Classroom.
Спасибо за просмотр!
Ну, собственно, вот как-то так выглядят 4 года работы ... :)